Historic, Archive Document

Do not assume content reflects current scientific knowledge, policies, or practices.

.

1

U. S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, OFFICE OF EXPERIMENT STATIONS,

A. C. TRUE, DIRECTOR,

CONSTITUTION AND BY-LAWS

OF THE

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF FARMERS' INSTITUTE WORKERS.

serve EX6 FC

1179

lese



·

352546

CONSTITUTION OF THE ASSOCIATION.

ARTICLE I.-NAME.

This organization shall be known by the name of The American Association of Farmers' Institute Workers.

ARTICLE II.-OFFICERS.

The officers shall consist of a president, vice-president, and secretary-treasurer, to be elected by ballot.

ARTICLE III.-MEMBERSHIP.

Any active worker in the farmers' institutes in the United States and Canada may become a regular member of this association on payment of the annual dues, and is entitled to one vote. A delegate member representing the State Farmers' Institute organization shall be admitted from each State and Province, on compliance with the by-laws, and shall be entitled to cast five votes on any question: *Provided*, That the annual membership dues of the person shall be \$1 and that of the State \$5. Also the United States Department of Agriculture and the Office of Experiment Stations of that Department shall each be entitled to representation in the association, with the full privilege of delegate membership.

ARTICLE IV.-DUES.

The annual dues of delegate members shall be \$5 for six representatives of each State. The annual dues of members not delegates shall be \$1.

ARTICLE V.-TERM OF OFFICE.

The term of office of the officers of this association shall be for one year from the 1st day of January next following their election, or until their successors are elected.

ARTICLE VI.-DUTIES OF OFFICERS.

The duties of the officers of this association shall be those usually performed by officials of like rank in similar associations.

ARTICLE VII.—ASSOCIATE MEMBERS.

Honorary members of this organization may be elected from time to time upon the presentation of their names by some member of the association and upon their receiving the votes of at least two-thirds of the members present.

ARTICLE VIII.-POWER OF HONORARY MEMBERS.

Honorary members shall be entitled to sit in all of the sessions of the association and to take part in all discussions, but shall have no vote.

ARTICLE IX.-BY-LAWS.

This association shall have power to make by-laws from time to time not inconsistent with this constitution.

ARTICLE X.-EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE.

There shall be an executive committee, consisting of the president and the secretary-treasurer of this association, ex officio, and three other members, to be elected annually by ballot, who shall meet at the call of the president and have charge of such matters of business relating to the association as shall be necessary to attend to in the interval between the annual meetings, and it shall be their duty to report such action as they may take to the next regular meeting of the association.

ARTICLE XI.-CHANGE IN CONSTITUTION.

This constitution shall not be changed except by a vote of two-thirds of the members at a regular annual meeting held one year from the date on which the proposed alteration or amendment has been first presented.

BY-LAWS.

- (A) The time of meeting of this organization shall be fixed by the executive committee.
- (B) (1) There shall be standing committees, consisting of three members, to be nominated by the executive committee, upon the following subjects:
 - (a) Institute organization and methods.
 - (b) Institute lecturers.
 - (c) Cooperation with other educational agencies.
 - (d) Movable schools of agriculture.
 - (e) Boys' and girls' institutes.
 - (f) On women's institutes.
 - (2) It shall be the duty of the standing committees to consider during the intervals between the annual meetings of this association the subjects severally assigned, and report the results of their investigations to the annual meetings of the association, accompanied by such recommendations as they may deem proper to present.
 - (3) The members of the standing committees shall be appointed one for one year, one for two years, and one for three years, and as their terms expire the subsequent appointments shall be for three years. The member whose term first expires shall be chairman of the committee.
- (C) Order of business:
 - (1) Calling the roll of membership.
 - (2) Reading of minutes of previous meeting.
 - (3) Admission of new members.
 - (4) Reports of committees.
 - (5) Election of officers.
 - (6) Appointment of committees.
 - (7) Unfinished business.
 - (8) New business.
 - (9) Adjournment.



